Solar Sailing (ISSS 2017)

What’s New

28th February, 2017
Proceedings publicly disclosed
16th January, 2017
Final schedule and Final program updated

General Information

The fourth International Symposium on Solar Sailing (ISSS 2017) will be held on 17th - 20th January 2017 at the Kyoto Research Park, Kyoto, Japan.
Following the tradition since 1st International Symposium on Solar Sailing, ISSS 2017 will focus on recent advances in solar sailing technologies and near-term solar sailing missions after the success of Japanese IKAROS and American LightSail. Areas of particular interest include hardware, enabling technologies, concepts, designs, dynamics, navigation, control, modeling, and mission applications and programs.


The papers are uploaded to the Symposium web site.

About ISSS

Inaugurated in 2007 in Herrsching, Germany and last held in Glasgow, Scotland in 2012.
The Fourth International Symposium on Solar Sailing will be held in Kyoto, Japan between 17th and 20th January 2017, at the Kyoto Research Park.

Solar Sailing

With the success of the Japanese IKAROS and American LightSail; and new missions and applications on the horizon, solar sailing technology is progressing to a new stage of reality.


The symposium focuses on recent advances in solar sailing technologies and near-term solar sailing missions.

Areas of particular interest are:

  • solar sail dynamics
  • sail hardware & technologies
  • concepts & designs
  • navigation & control
  • modeling & testing
  • solar sail missions & applications

Important Dates

Important Dates

2016, June 1st Announcement Issued
2016, Feb 2nd Announcement Issued
2016, June Call for Papers
2016, Aug 12th Abstract Deadline
2016, Aug-Sept Author Notification
2016, Dec 1st
2016, Dec 24th
Papers Deadline
2016, Dec 16th Early Registration Deadline
2017, Jan 10th Registration Deadline

Committee Members

  • Prof. Jun'ichiro Kawaguchi (chair), JAXA, Japan
  • Prof. Hexi Baoyin, Tsinghua University, China
  • Prof. Bernd Dachwald, Aachen University of Applied Sciences, Germany
  • Mr. Billy Derbes, BCDAerospace, USA
  • Prof. Hansjörg Dittus, DLR, Germany
  • Dr. Louis D. Friedman, The Planetary Society, USA
  • Mr. Les Johnson, NASA-MSFC, USA
  • Prof. Roman Kezerashvili, New York City College of Technology, USA
  • Dr. Manfred Leipold,OHB System AG, Germany
  • Dr. Malcolm Macdonald, University of Strathclyde, Scotland
  • Prof. Colin McInnes University of Glasgow, Scotland
  • Mr. Bill Nye The Planetary Society, USA
  • Prof. Constantinos Stavrinidis ESA-ESTEC, The Netherlands
  • Prof. Bong Wie, Iowa State University, USA

1st Announcement (pdf, issued on 24th June, 2015)
2nd Announcement (pdf, issued on 9th February, 2016)

This program is supported by a subsidy from Kyoto City and
the Kyoto Convention & Visitors Bureau.